Sleep as if by Magic for the Colicky Baby

This combination is magic for fussy kids.

Last night we had a rough night. Neither the baby nor the toddler was falling asleep though they were both extremely tired and both were fussing and both were crying off and on. J and I were switching off who was holding baby Auburne and trying to calm her enough so that she could release some gas. We put Bri in the tub with some eucalyptus and rosemary essential oils (which have been helping her with her cold) and she calmed down but the baby still kept crying and I was quickly reaching the end of my rope. I have been using essential oils for over a year, but I still forget how helpful they can be in certain situations. I was struck with inspiration to put a drop of frankincense and a drop of lavender on the sole of each of baby Auburne’s feet. Within seconds, she was asleep. Aaaaaaaaaaaah relief! When Bri got out of the bath, I applied the same to her feet. She stopped fussing immediately and was sleeping within 20 minutes. I use Edens Garden essential oils for external applications like this. Because they don’t have usage instructions and aren’t FDA approved with the ingredient list and such for internal use, I don’t use them that way and instead use Faerie’s Finest when it’s for internal use. Lavender and frankincense are both so great for helping calm fussy kids, it’s amazing.

2 responses to “Sleep as if by Magic for the Colicky Baby

  1. julianaturalparentsnetwork

    Sounds like I need to get some lavender and frankincense. :). I have a 3 year old and a baby soon to join us so I’m sure there will definitely be times like this in my future!

    • It’s like a magical relief for those times when I’ve totally reached the end of my patience rope. 🙂 I highly recommend you get some, even if you never end up using it. If you’re anything like me though, you’ll be so excited to try the oils that you’ll use them a lot.

Leave a Reply

