Flipping the Bird Part Deux…

So, 7 months later and I’m still using Ubuntu and I have upgraded to 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot. Back in April, I wrote Flipping the Birdabout my adventures in getting my webcam working properly with Skype. I wasn’t wild about the Unity interface, and I’m still really not, but I have kept using it and it has grown on me to a certain extent. I am thinking about switching to Linux Mint, but even in that event, I’m sure I will still have to mess with this crap yet again, futzing with the webcam settings. But that isn’t what this post is about; it is about the fact that I have upgraded (I actually installed Oneiric from scratch) and I ran into the same issue I had before with Skype talking to my webcam driver properly. As before, everything else having anything to do with my webcam talks to Video4Linux just fine. *sigh*

Oneiric has removed all support for any of the gnome options available before, so I couldn’t change the command easily anymore. I actually had to go into the .desktop file and change that. I found though, that it really wasn’t as painful as I thought it would be. So, per the instructions again on this post I entered this command to launch the .desktop editor:

sudo gedit /usr/share/applications/skype.desktop

and adjusted the Exec line to read like this:

Exec=bash -c ‘LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/libv4l/v4l1compat.so skype’

I used this version of the command because I have a 64-bit system. Save file, close it and launch Skype.

To be fair, when I opened the terminal, I ran the exec command line straight in the terminal and when Skype opened I tested the video settings to make sure Skype was talking to Video4Linux. It was. 😀 After I saved the .desktop file, I tested Skype again from the launcher in my dock. It worked there too.

Leave a Reply

