The Wonder-Whatever!

I was going to post about fruit leather and my experiments with it, but having finished my wonder-whatevers last night, I can’t wait to talk about them! I will follow with posts on recipes I try and whether or not they succeed, but for the moment, I’m just tossing out there the pattern I used and how they turned out. I made myself two, so I can have two things cooking at the same time or I can use one for cooking and one as a cooler simultaneously.
Though I didn’t print it out here. A friend from church made up the patterns for us to use, here is the same basic pattern I used to make mine: Wonder Whatever Pattern





Basically, the wonder-whatever has been called both the wonder oven and the wonder box. It is a bean bag stuffed with polystyrene beads that retains the heat of whatever it is cooking, decreasing the amount of energy needed to cook it. Basically, you put your soup/pasta/hot cereal/meat on the stove for 10-15 minutes and then you put the pot in the wonder oven, put the top on it, make sure there are no gaps between the top and bottom and let whatever it is cook like a slow cooker. The wonder oven retains the heat and instead of cooking on the stove on medium-high for 45 minutes to an hour or longer, you can heat it through for 10-15 minutes and let it retain the heat for a few hours, much like a slow cooker. The upside is, of course, it requires no energy. The only downside is that it takes longer to cook than cooking in a more traditional manner does.

3 responses to “The Wonder-Whatever!

  1. Pingback: Wonder Whatever Recipes: Bread Pudding | Sesasha says:

  2. Pingback: Wonder Whatever Recipes: Mac & Cheese | Sesasha says:

  3. Pingback: Wonder Whatever Recipes: Chicken Parmesan | Sesasha says:

Leave a Reply

