Let There Be Monkey Bread!

Dutch Oven Monkey Bread

After multiple failed attempts, I finally succeeded making monkey bread! And in spite of the cheat recipes I was using that involve the pre-packaged rolls, I managed to create a roll dough from scratch for my monkey bread that worked with the dutch oven recipe. I am the queen of the kitchen!

I don’t have a bunt pan, so I made these using a dutch oven. I even found a lovely Dutch Oven Monkey Bread recipe that I adjusted to my specs here.

Doubled recipe of dinner rolls dough
1 cup granulated sugar
3 tablespoons ground cinnamon
1 stickbutter

Make the doubled dinner rolls recipe dough and allow it to rise to double its size.

Pour sugar and cinnamon into a plastic baggie and mix it well. I mixed it in a mixing bowl and split it between two sandwich baggies so both of my older kids could help with the next part. They enjoyed the helping part.

Line your dutch oven with a piece of aluminum foil large enough to cover the bottom and the sides.

Scoop the dinner roll dough out of the bowl it rose in by a spoonful and drop it into the baggie. Shake the baggie well to cover the piece of dough with cinnamon sugar and drop it onto the aluminum foil. Repeat this process until all of the dough is in the dutch oven.

Pour any remaining cinnamon and sugar over the dough in the dutch oven. Melt the butter and pour the melted butter over the top of the dough in the dutch oven.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

One response to “Let There Be Monkey Bread!

  1. I wanted to e-mail you this award – yes award – but I could not find your email. I wanted you to have this award because I often read your blog and slowly am learning how to bake from it. Here you go! The Versatile Blogger Award:

    http://theotherteacher.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/the-versatile-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

