Made Up Some Gifty Banana Applesauce Spice Bread Mini-Loaves

Mini-loaves make great gift bag gifts.


I wanted to make Christmas gifts for my neighbors, and like all of my cooking, I wanted to make it with things I already had in my pantry. I had a banana I wanted to use before it went bad and I had an open jar of applesauce, so this was the result:

2 cups applesauce
1 medium banana chopped
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
1/3 cup milk
4 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground allspice
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease 8 mini-loaf pans.

Cream applesauce, banana, sugar, vegetable oil, eggs and milk together. Beat well. Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice and salt. Stir until smooth. Fill mini-loaf pans half-full and bake for 30 minutes.

If you don’t have that many mini-loaf pans or you just want larger loaves, half-fill 4 regular 9×5 loaf pans and bake for 50-60 minutes.

Leave a Reply

