Vanilla Fudge Fail

I tried again to make fudge and my efforts were foiled by… I’m not sure what foiled them, to be honest. I know the recipe make some sort of candy, but fudge it definitely was not. I know it’s my fault, but I don’t know what I screwed up. Perhaps I am a fudge failure. I sure have fun trying to make it work though. And it’s still delicious, however much it may not be fudge.

Best Vanilla Fudge
2 cups sugar
1 can (5 oz) evaporated milk
1/2 cup milk
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Line a bread pan with foil and grease or butter it. Butter the sides of a 2 quart sauce pan.

Combine sugar, evaporated milk, milk and salt in sauce pan. Stir and cook over med-high heat to boiling. Clip candy thermometer to side of sauce pan and continue to cook over med-low heat until it reaches 238 degrees or soft ball. (mine never did I’m guessing because my candy thermometer doesn’t work with such a small amount of food cooking, but I could tell it had hit soft ball state.) it should take 25-35 minutes. Remove sauce pan from heat.

Add butter and vanilla, but do not stir. Allow it to cool to 110 degrees without stirring.

Remove candy thermometer and beat the mixture vigorously with a wooden spoon until it starts to lose it’s gloss. (the consistency of mine was such that I had to remove it from the pan and knead it with my hand to get the butter into it.) Spread fudge into foiled pan. (I formed it into the foiled pan shape and set it in there with my hands. it was like tough gooey playdough.)

When candy is firm, use the foil to lift the fudge out of the pan. Cut into squares. Store tightly covered in the fridge.

It hasn’t finished setting yet, but I’m not expecting fudge consistency. I will report back how it turned out.

So, after I took it out of the fridge and it softened up (took a few hours) it actually was the consistency of fudge, mostly. It was pretty delicious. I may have to give this recipe another shot and see if it turns out fudge-like.

One response to “Vanilla Fudge Fail

  1. Pingback: Best Vanilla Fudge

Leave a Reply

