Amish Sweet Bread

Not to be confused with Amish Friendship Bread, which I also love.

I happened upon this recipe while I was preggers with monster number 3, but because my good mixer was in storage, I had to hand-kneed the bread and it took forever. Being pregnant, I was usually too tired to attempt it, but the bread was tasty, soft and a big hit with everyone who tried it.

Since I got my mixer out of storage, and I now have a dough hook again, I made Amish Sweet Bread yesterday without having to hand-kneed it at all. It still came out deliciously soft and smooth and I am in love with my dough hook. I got the recipe from AllRecipes.com and it is a wonderful and easy recipe, so long as you have a dough hook and do not have to kneed it by hand.

2 Cups Warm Water
2/3 cup white sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
6 cups all purpose flour

Dissolve the sugar in warm water and stir in yeast. Allow it to foam up and change the color of the water. Mix salt and oil into the yeast and mix the flour in one cup at a time until it is uniform. Use a dough hook on your mixer on the #2 setting or lower. Knead it in the bowl until it is smooth. Remove the dough from the bowl and place it on the counter. Oil the bowl and place the dough back in it. Turn the dough over so it is lightly coated with oil, as well as the bowl. Cover the bowl with a damp cloth and place it in a warm space to rise for about an hour. Punch the dough down, divide it in half and put it in two 9×5 bread pans. (I also pull a smaller piece of each loaf and put them in mini-loaf pans for my kids to have their own individual loaves.) Allow it to rise for 30 minutes. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Marvelous!

One response to “Amish Sweet Bread

  1. Pingback: Wonder Whatever Recipes: Bread Pudding | Sesasha says:

Leave a Reply

