Homemade Dish Detergent

So I found a new use for Borax powder: dish detergent. I went a-googling and I found a variety of recipes for homemade dish detergent, yes for use in your dishwasher. The difference between my dish detergent and laundry detergent, you ask? No soap in the dish detergent. That’s right. Equal parts by volume borax powder, baking soda and salt. Two tablespoons per load of dishes and I also started putting white vinegar in the rinse-aid thing. My dishes are coming out clean and the load always smells borax-y fresh. (Maybe that’s the baking soda.) I’m loving it.

4 responses to “Homemade Dish Detergent

  1. I am SO going to try this because our dishes come out gritty ALL THE TIME. I think it’s food particles and I wonder if Borax would get it spiffier in there…

  2. Can you premix a whole bunch? Or do you add each separately each time you watch?

  3. I will have to try this once our dishwasher is fixed. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

