Baby Foods: Bananas and Baby Cereals

I’ve been trying a lot of the baby foods that are available at the store with Bri. Neither of my other kids got much traditional packaged baby food, mostly because it doesn’t make sense to me to buy pureed squash when I can just get the squash and puree it myself with my less expense. In a fit of insanity, I guess, I purchased some baby food and Bri and I have tried it.

Most of the single ingredient stuff we have tried tastes OK. The bananas seem singularly gross. I don’t like them, and Bri keeps spitting them on me. I’d rather not have mashed bananas all over me all the time, so we’re not getting any more of them. And before you ask, yes, we have tried them more than once with a few days break in between. She likes the home-mashed real bananas much better.

She doesn’t seem to like plain cereal either, even with breastmilk in it. We tried it a few times, but it went over like a lead balloon until I added a drop of honey. I’m pretty firmly against adding refined sugars to infant food.

Leave a Reply

