Catfood says: Artistic ventures highlighted. Rob a museum.

In the West Wing Episode “the supremes” Josh says “We’re democrats over here. We’re not going to nominated a born-again elk hunter with a tattoo of the confederate flag on his ass.” It makes me snicker every time. Glenn Close is fabulous in that episode. I have one episode from each season that I love and that one is it from season 5.

I don’t like sparking political debate because somewhere along the way, I discovered that no one really thinks the same way I do and so it’s just happier all around if I avoid it.

While I’m ranting a touch on the differences between me and well, everyone else, I’d like to say a thing about proselytizing. Why, oh why, do people feel the need to convert me to no particular religion? My Atheist friends in particular aim to do this. Though I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, I don’t spend any time trying to convert people. One of the missions of the church is to preach the gospel, but I personally only preach to those who show some curiosity. I don’t mind discussing philosophy, but I refuse to debate or bible bash. If all you want to do is pick a fight, find some other gimpy. I refuse. Besides, when all is said and done, whether I’m right or wrong, who cares? I live a good life. I’m a good person. I leave other people alone. Stop trying to convince me that there’s nothing after this so it doesn’t matter what I do. I think it matters, and how does it affect your life, really?

This is my basic philosophy on politics too. So long as what you do doesn’t affect my life or my freedoms, I couldn’t care less. Let it go. In the gospel according to Missie, the freedom of personal choice is far and away the most important thing to protect, way more than any other protections or liberties. The environment and my oil supply could all go to pot so long as I have the freedom to choose how to live my life without imposing my beliefs on others.

When you figure out how to find a comfortable balance between all of these divisive forces, let me know. In the meantime, anyone for tennis? Wouldn’t that be nice.

One response to “Catfood says: Artistic ventures highlighted. Rob a museum.

  1. I might argue theology, if I’m in the mood.

    The thing about the oil supply going to pot is that you get fewer choices to choose between. (Unless you can afford more gas than Ransom can).

Leave a Reply

