Road Trip Day 1: 545 miles

This actually took place last Friday but I was tired, and then I worked all day today. This, however, is really a narrative of my road trip about how the gods like to do things that would be amusing if they weren’t all happening to me all at the same time.
First thing in the morning, I got up and went to Big O so the morons who work there would fix a slow leak in my tire for free. I didn’t want to fill up with air every time I filled up with gas. I then ran a couple of errands before I stopped back at home to grab my kids and hit the road. It was about 10 AM when we left.

Friday was cow appreciation day at chic-fil-a. I love chic-fil-a. It’s a fabulous restaurant which insists on acting like a sit-down place, rather than a fast-food joint. I love this. So, we dressed up like cows and got free meals. Life is good. It meant that we didn’t leave until 11 though. All in all, not too bad, given my plan for that evening and the next day, but about 1 1/2 hours into my journey, I got a flat tire in the middle of no-where Wyoming. A trucker had pulled over because he was drowsy and laughed at my attempt at unscrewing the bolts in the rim by jumping on the tire iron. He then decided to be nice and came and put my spare on. I then drove to the next Big O in Wyoming and bought a new tire to replace the one that I had had repaired that morning. They also didn’t realize which tire was the spare, so they took one of my tires off that was less than a year old and left the spare on. I had to wait another half hour while they rotated them to the right positions on the car.

It took a total of 7 hours of driving and 545 miles to get from Lehi to Westminster and three hours of waiting at the Big O in Rock Springs WY. Avoid that store if it’s possible: If they actually managed to graduate high school, it wasn’t with enough reading skills to be able to follow the instructions on their own work orders.

Leave a Reply

