I went from “It’s complicated” to “Single” on facebook

So, I keep a decent eye on the news feed on facebook, because, let’s face it, it’s well nigh impossible to stay caught up on all 200+ people you’re friends with on it once a week, let alone everyday. I love the news feed. It helps me to know when people post new pictures or videos or make comments on each other’s walls and I also know this way when they’re in relationships and when they break up. It’s so convenient, because then you don’t have to ask the awkward question, “So, how’s it going with your-girl-friend-last-I-was-aware-of-the-situation?” only to have your now very embarrassed or upset friend say, “oh, yeah, we broke up.” It shows you right in the news feed. I saw one of my friends go from “it’s complicated” to “single” and I have some understanding of that situation. It was complicated before because his not-girlfriend was being incredibly immature and though she wasn’t willing to make the effort for the relationship to work, she wasn’t willing to let go either, because she was comfortable. If he’s declaring that he’s actually single now, then that means it’s off and for real this time. I’m glad of it. She’s not a bad person, but she’s not ready to be in a relationship with him. He needs more consistency and effort. It’s just so convenient though. Now, rather than asking how things are going with them, I can just say, “I saw that you’re single again on facebook. I’m sorry man. You need anything?” And thus avoid the awkwardness of him having to explain the relationship and it’s downfall.

Also, for the record, I would like to state here and now that I disagree with Aaron Karo about his feelings on relationships statuses on facebook: He claims that if someone gets married, the very next thing he should see on the news feeds is “so and so deleted their facebook account.” Married friends, you’re married but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to stay in touch with you! Facebook isn’t even set up so you can randomly browse people, other than your friends friends and the pictures in the avatars are so small that you can’t really see faces anyways. Facebook is for staying in touch with people you went to high school and college with. Period. It’s at the very best an awkward social networking tool for dating. Beware trying to find dates on facebook. Seriously. Look at eChemistry.com instead or one of the other dating sites. You should probably avoid trying to find dates on Myspace too. Fine for making random friends that you’ll never meet in person, but I don’t recommend taking it to the next level there. Also, the Myspace application that quizzes you on how beautiful you are says I’m ugly. Given the typos in it, I’m not really inclined to believe the logic the person who designed the quiz was following. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

